SSAI Board

Camila Alire – Board Vice Chair
Dean Emerita
University of New Mexico and Colorado State University
Sedalia, CO

Dr. Alire has held many leadership positions in the field of library science and librarianship, including serving as elected President of the American Library Association in 2009. Appointed by President Obama, she is currently a member of the National Council on the Humanities. She received her Ed.D. in Educational Leadership from the University of Northern Colorado and her Masters in Library Science from the University of Denver.

Tamara Baker
Associate Professor
University of Kansas Department of Psychology
Lawrence, KS

Dr. Baker teaches and conducts research in gerontology, particularly among diverse populations. She is currently the elected Secretary of the Gerontological Society of America and is the former chair of the GSA Task Force (now Committee) on Minority Issues in Gerontology. Baker also worked with SCSEP participants in Baltimore as a SSAI-SCSEP Fellow in 2008. She received her Ph.D. in Biobehavioral Health from Pennsylvania State University.

Connie Beimer
Interim Director
Office of Government and Community Relations, University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM

Ms. Beimer directs and coordinates the planning and implementation of the University’s various federal, state, and local government affairs activities, programs and initiatives. She sets the strategic direction, provides integrative leadership, and recommends institutional policies and standards of practice to ensure all government relations efforts effectively and efficiently support the University’s overall mission, goals, and strategic objectives. Ms. Beimer has worked for UNM for the past 10 years, initially as the chief of staff to the president. She has a bachelor’s degree in recreation and a master’s in public administration – both from UNM. She is also a past president of the UNM Alumni Association.

Barbara Kaufmann – Board Secretary/Treasurer
Specialized Medical Assistance Division, Montgomery County, Maryland
Rockville, MD

Ms. Kaufmann has almost 30 years of experience working at the state, local and national level on workforce development issues and in social programs. Her career includes work with the American Association of Community Colleges, the Institute for Educational Leadership, the National Alliance of Business, and the Ohio Bureau of Employment Services. She received her B.S. in Journalism from Ohio University.

Spence Limbocker – Board Chair
Executive Director (retired)
Neighborhood Funders Group
Annandale, VA

Mr. Limbocker has worked for over forty years with community-based organizations and philanthropic institutions focused on effective community and economic development in low and moderate income communities. His prior positions include Associate Director, Catholic Campaign for Human Development; Administrative Director, ORGANIZE Training Center; and Peace Corps volunteer in Peru and Sierra Leone. He received his B.A. in Business Administration from Western Michigan University and Masters of Public Administration from the University of San Francisco.

Fred Mason, Jr.
Maryland State-District of Columbia AFL-CIO
Annapolis, MD

Mr. Mason was first elected President of the Maryland State and District of Columbia, AFL-CIO in 2001 and has nearly 40 years of labor and social justice activism. Previously he was a State Director for the National AFL-CIO and served from 1990 to 1998 as Executive Vice-President of SEIU District 1199E-DC, a 10,000 member healthcare workers’ union. He received his B.S. in Business Administration from Morgan State University.

Michael Raff
Deputy Director
City of Jackson Department of Human and Cultural Services
Jackson, MS

Mr. Raff has been a senior government official, political candidate, and community leader in Mississippi for over forty years. After resigning from the priesthood in 1971, he founded the Mississippi Legal Services Coalition, has run for several elected offices, and worked for several Mississippi governors and mayors of the City of Jackson. He received his M.A. in Theology and B.A. in Philosophy from Immaculate Conception Seminary after attending the University of Notre Dame.